The wrong 528 Hz frequency and more


This subject has been around for many years and I’m still waiting for someone to correct many errors spread out on the internet and in many books. Wrong musical notes frequencies, notes associated with the wrong frequencies etc. It would be time to correct all those mistakes!

The 528 Hz frequency, known in the new age movement for its healing properties is not correct. 528 Hz is the frequency of C/Do based on the natural frequency of A/La 440 Hz. But 440 Hz is not a correct frequency, it is a modern frequency, but historically it’s never been the base frequency used for classical music!

Sicne millennia, instruments have been tuned with the A/La 432 Hz frequency. Using this frequency as a standard we get 518.4 Hz, not 528 Hz. As it can be seen clearly on the following tables:


La/A 432 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 432 x1 Unison
La# A# 450 x25/24 = 1.0416 Minor second
Si B 486 x9/8 = 1.125 Major second
Do C 518,4 x6/5 = 1.2 Minor third
Do# C# 540 x5/4 = 1.25 Major third
Re D 576 x4/3 = 1.333 Perfect fourth
Re# D# 607.5 x45/32 = 1.40625 Diminished fifth
Mi E 648 x3/2 = 1.5 Perfect fifth
Fa F 691.2 x8/5 = 1.6 Minor sixth
Fa# F# 720 x5/3 = 1.666 Major sixth
Sol G 777.6 x9/5 = 1.8 Minor seventh
Sol# G# 810 x15/8 = 1.875 Major seventh



La/A 440 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 440 x1 Unison
La# A# 458.33333 x25/24 = 1.0416 Minor second
Si B 495 x9/8 = 1.125 Major second
Do C 528 x6/5 = 1.2 Minor third
Do# C# 550 x5/4 = 1.25 Major third
Re D 586.66666 x4/3 = 1.333 Perfect fourth
Re# D# 618.75 x45/32 = 1.40625 Diminished fifth
Mi E 660 x3/2 = 1.5 Perfect fifth
Fa F 704 x8/5 = 1.6 Minor sixth
Fa# F# 733.33333 x5/3 = 1.666 Major sixth
Sol G 792 x9/5 = 1.8 Minor seventh
Sol# G# 825 x15/8 = 1.875 Major seventh



One thing that can be seen straight away with 432 as a standard is that all other frequencies are always exact, there are no irrational numbers as it happens when using 440 Hz giving 733.33333 or 586.66666 etc. This is true for any octave, frequencies are always exact.

I’ve been and still am trying to understand why 432 Hz was chosen (and the number in itself), I still never reached a clear cut conclusion, but there are very interesting things linked with this number. At least for music it is evident that using 432 Hz as a tuning pitch for all notes allows us to have exact frequencies for all notes.

For information, nowadays it’s the equal tempered scale that is the most used (for digital applications), because it’s an approximation of the exact scale to simplify it by dividing the octave in 12 equal chromatic intervals.
I won’t dwell into the details; in the equal tempered scale we switch from one semi-tone to the next by multiplying by 2^(1/12), 2^(2/12), 2^(3/12), 2^(4/12) etc.



La/A 432 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 432 x1 Unison
La# A# 457.68806 x2^(1/12) = 1.05946 Minor second
Si B 484.90360 x2^(2/12) = 1.12246 Major second
Do C 513.73747 x2^(3/12) = 1.18921 Minor third
Do# C# 544.28589 x2^(4/12) = 1.25992 Major third
Re D 576.65082 x2^(5/12) = 1.33484 Perfect fourth
Re# D# 610.94026 x2^(6/12) = 1.41421 Diminished fifth
Mi E 647.26866 x2^(7/12) = 1.49831 Perfect fifth
Fa F 685.75725 x2^(8/12) = 1.58740 Minor sixth
Fa# F# 726.53450 x2^(9/12) = 1.68179 Major sixth
Sol G 769.73649 x2^(10/12) = 1.78180 Minor seventh
Sol# G# 815.50740 x2^(11/12) = 1.88775 Major seventh



La/A 440 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 440 x1 Unison
La# A# 466.16376 x2^(1/12) = 1.05946 Minor second
Si B 493.88330 x2^(2/12) = 1.12246 Major second
Do C 523.25113 x2^(3/12) = 1.18921 Minor third
Do# C# 554.36526 x2^(4/12) = 1.25992 Major third
Re D 587.32953 x2^(5/12) = 1.33484 Perfect fourth
Re# D# 622.25398 x2^(6/12) = 1.41421 Diminished fifth
Mi E 659.25511 x2^(7/12) = 1.49831 Perfect fifth
Fa F 698.45646 x2^(8/12) = 1.58740 Minor sixth
Fa# F# 739.98884 x2^(9/12) = 1.68179 Major sixth
Sol G 783.99087 x2^(10/12) = 1.78180 Minor seventh
Sol# G# 830.60939 x2^(11/12) = 1.88775 Major seventh



Isn’t it ugly?… I wonder why we use this simplification, even in the past, when computers weren’t that powerful, it makes no sense, these logarithmic multiplications are way more complicated than the use of the perfect ratios, and on top of that, all the frequencies have decimals up to infinity…
There’s no doubt, for people who love maths, the choice of La/A 432 with perfect ratios gives the most beautiful results, and by far, all frequencies are perfect.

FYI: some people told me that the Do/C 528hz is based on a La/A 444hz… Yes, if we use this equal tempered scale, 444 x 2^(3/12) = 528.007959. But unlike using perfect ratios, it’s not an exact frequency and of no interest to me.

Visual spectrum:

The informations available on chakras and their relationship to musical notes all indicate the same. C/Do represents the root chakra, D/Re the navel chakra, E/Mi the solar plexus, F/Fa the heart chakra, G/Sol the throat chakra, A/La the third eye, B/Si the crown chakra. One thign I never understood is why C/Do was chosen as the note to start the octave? Because it could technically start from any note, octaves would still be correct, it wouldn’t change anything, so there must be a precise reason for starting at C/Do.. The only thing I observe is that C/Do is that famous note with a frequency of 518.4 Hz (mistakenly believed to be 528 Hz..)

Here’s a visual table associating chakras to the musical notes and to the visual color spectrum. What I’m also intrigued by, historically speaking, is: who chose to name musical notes that way? There are 7 precise notes par octave (Do/C, Re/D, Mi/E, Fa/F, Sol/G, La/A, Si/B) and historically speaking we’ve also always spoken of 7 chakras… I’m sure that there are some sacred mathematical relationships behind that choice!

chakrasvisu

One other interesting fact to note is that the visual spectrum that we are able to see as humans is almost exactly delimited by one musical octave. It’s somewhat simple and evident, but still, I’ve never had anything like that mentioned in any lectures while I studied at university, why us, why humans, why are we limited to almost exactly the equivalent of one musical octave as far as our visual perception is concerned? I would even say that our visual perceptions are exactly delimited by one octave of the electromagnetic spectrum (light), which is our visual octave. In older books, written prior to approx. 1950, scientists at the time often used that term of « visual octave », probably because at the time scientists were savants, they had knowledge not only in their specific field of study, but in all domains of terrestrial knowledge, including music. Whereas nowadays it’s generally not the case anymore..

To show that I have to transform the audio frequencies into a wavelength by choosing an appropriate and arbitrary velocity for the propagation of sound (very unlikely here, as it’s close to zero..) such that these wavelengths are in the range of the visual spectrum (~400-700 nm).

visusoundspectra

We can see that this arbitrary chocie gives us wavelength between 390 nm (used as the initial wavelength) and 731 nm, which is quite close to the real values of the visible spectrum, these limits are not even precisely defined… Sometimes we can read that our vision is between 380nm and 750nm, other times 360nm and 740nm, also 380nm and 720nm, etc. No one knows exactly, I would tend to believe that it starts around 360nm because our eyes can’t physically support shorter wavelength (and still, measurement vary depending on the human subjects). But here again, we have to take into account the photopic (good lighting conditions, diurnal vision) and scotopic (night vision), which are never determined to be exactly the same by different experiments. I’m sure that there is a mathematical way to perfectly determine the ideal visual octave for a human being.

I’ll put forward a somewhat crazy idea, which for me is evident! When we’ll discover the direct relationship between sound and light science will take a huge leap forward in many domains of research. For me it is evident that this link exists even though all I studied at university tried to convince me that this is not the case.

Without talking about sound frequencies, I’ll just leave you with the following image of the vescia piscis which is a well known geometry present in all human eyes! …I have no idea what to make of this as of yet…

Please note that √324 = 18 et √81 = 9 et √9 = 3. What attracts me a lot is this mirror numerology effect : 432 ~ 324 and 108 ~ 81. Which is also true with √972 √(3/4) = √729

Numerology:

Another very important detail in my opinion proving that the choice of 432 with perfect ratio is all but random, is that all frequencies become a 9 if reduced to a single digit following the rules of numerology, for any octave.

Let’s use a different octave that the one used in above examples, for example La/A 1728 Hz (4 x 432), two octaves above.

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Numerology
La A 1728 x1 1+7+2+8 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
La# A# 1800 x25/24 1+8+0+0 = 9
Si B 1944 x9/8 1+9+4+4 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Do C 2073.6 x6/5 2+0+7+3+6 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Do# C# 2160 x5/4 2+1+6+0 = 9
Re D 2304 x4/3 2+3+0+4 = 9
Re# D# 2430 x45/32 2+4+3+0 = 9
Mi E 2592 x3/2 2+5+9+2 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Fa F 2764.8 x8/5 2+7+6+4+8 = 27 = 2+7 = 9
Fa# F# 2880 x5/3 2+8+8+0 = 9
Sol G 3110.4 x9/5 3+1+1+0+4 = 9
Sol# G# 3240 x15/8 3+2+4+0 = 9

You can play around with it for any octave, in any case it always comes back to 9, because changing octave just means multiplying or dividing by 2, when you do that, in numerology it always comes back to 9:
9 x 2 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
9 / 2 = 4,5 = 4+5 = 9

The musical choice of La/A 432 Hz with perfect ratios is the only one giving such a perfection in numerology for all frequencies.

As a more general rule, if the base frequency is a 9, any multiplication of that 9 by any of these ratios will alway give a 9. In fact we could use La/A 414, 423, 441 etc. But, no one ever spoke of such frequencies, this is just to explain some mathematical rules that apply to numerology. ;)

That being said, do note that not all fractions work, these ratios are very well chosen, for example 432 x (4/9) = 192 = 1 + 9 + 2 = 3, or 432 x (46/19) = 1045.894737… I repeat it again, the choice of these ratios, is all but random!

La fausse fréquence de 528 Hz et plus


Ce sujet traine depuis des années et je ne vois jamais personne corriger les erreurs qui se sont éparpillées dans tous les sens sur internet et même dans pleins de livres. Des mauvaises fréquences de notes, des notes associées aux fausses fréquences etc. Il serait temps de remettre les choses en place.

La fréquence de 528 Hz, en vogue dans le mouvement new age pour ses vertus de guérison est erronée. 528 Hz est la fréquence du Do/C basé sur le La/A 440 Hz. Or 440 Hz n’est pas la fréquence qui a été originellement choisie comme base pour la musique classique.

Depuis des millénaires ce fut 432 Hz la fréquence de base du La/A. En utilisant cette fréquence comme base on obtient 518.4 Hz et non 528 Hz. Comme vous pouvez le voir clairement sur les deux tableaux suivants:


La/A à 432 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 432 x1 Unison
La# A# 450 x25/24 = 1.0416 Seconde mineure
Si B 486 x9/8 = 1.125 Seconde majeure
Do C 518,4 x6/5 = 1.2 Tièrce mineure
Do# C# 540 x5/4 = 1.25 Tièrce majeure
Re D 576 x4/3 = 1.333 Quarte
Re# D# 607,5 x45/32 = 1.40625 Quinte diminuée
Mi E 648 x3/2 = 1.5 Quinte
Fa F 691,2 x8/5 = 1.6 Sixième mineure
Fa# F# 720 x5/3 = 1.666 Sixième majeure
Sol G 777,6 x9/5 = 1.8 Septième mineure
Sol# G# 810 x15/8 = 1.875 Septième majeure



La/A à 440 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 440 x1 Unison
La# A# 458,33333 x25/24 = 1.0416 Seconde mineure
Si B 495 x9/8 = 1.125 Seconde majeure
Do C 528 x6/5 = 1.2 Tièrce mineure
Do# C# 550 x5/4 = 1.25 Tièrce majeure
Re D 586,66666 x4/3 = 1.333 Quarte
Re# D# 618,75 x45/32 = 1.40625 Quinte diminuée
Mi E 660 x3/2 = 1.5 Quinte
Fa F 704 x8/5 = 1.6 Sixième mineure
Fa# F# 733,33333 x5/3 = 1.666 Sixième majeure
Sol G 792 x9/5 = 1.8 Septième mineure
Sol# G# 825 x15/8 = 1.875 Septième majeure



Une chose qu’on remarque aussi très vite avec l’utilisation de 432 Hz comme base est que les fréquences de toutes les autres notes sont toujours exactes, il n’y a pas de résultats irrationnels comme avec 440 Hz ou on obtient des fréquences de 733.33333333 ou 586.666666666 etc. Cette constatation est valable pour n’importe quelle octave, les fréquences sont toujours exactes.

J’essaye depuis longtemps de comprendre le pourquoi du choix de 432 Hz (et du chiffre en général), je ne suis toujours pas arrivé à une conclusion sûre, mais il y a des éléments très intéressants par rapport à l’utilisation de ce chiffre. En tout cas pour les accords musicaux c’est évident, cela permet de toujours avoir des fréquences exactes.

Pour information, de nos jour c’est la gamme tempérée qui est la plus utilisée (pour les méthodes digitales), car c’est une approximation de la gamme exacte pour la simplifier en divisant l’octave en douze intervalles chromatiques égaux.
Je ne vais pas expliquer les détails; dans la gamme tempérée on passe d’un demi-ton à l’autre en multipliant par 2^(1/12), 2^(2/12), 2^(3/12), 2^(4/12) etc.



La/A à 432 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 432 x1 Unison
La# A# 457,68806 x2^(1/12) = 1.05946 Seconde mineure
Si B 484,90360 x2^(2/12) = 1.12246 Seconde majeure
Do C 513,73747 x2^(3/12) = 1.18921 Tièrce mineure
Do# C# 544,28589 x2^(4/12) = 1.25992 Tièrce majeure
Re D 576,65082 x2^(5/12) = 1.33484 Quarte
Re# D# 610,94026 x2^(6/12) = 1.41421 Quinte diminuée
Mi E 647,26866 x2^(7/12) = 1.49831 Quinte
Fa F 685,75725 x2^(8/12) = 1.58740 Sixième mineure
Fa# F# 726,53450 x2^(9/12) = 1.68179 Sixième majeure
Sol G 769,73649 x2^(10/12) = 1.78180 Septième mineure
Sol# G# 815,50740 x2^(11/12) = 1.88775 Septième majeure



La/A à 440 Hz:

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Interval
La A 440 x1 Unison
La# A# 466,16376 x2^(1/12) = 1.05946 Seconde mineure
Si B 493,88330 x2^(2/12) = 1.12246 Seconde majeure
Do C 523,25113 x2^(3/12) = 1.18921 Tièrce mineure
Do# C# 554,36526 x2^(4/12) = 1.25992 Tièrce majeure
Re D 587,32953 x2^(5/12) = 1.33484 Quarte
Re# D# 622,25398 x2^(6/12) = 1.41421 Quinte diminuée
Mi E 659,25511 x2^(7/12) = 1.49831 Quinte
Fa F 698,45646 x2^(8/12) = 1.58740 Sixième mineure
Fa# F# 739,98884 x2^(9/12) = 1.68179 Sixième majeure
Sol G 783,99087 x2^(10/12) = 1.78180 Septième mineure
Sol# G# 830,60939 x2^(11/12) = 1.88775 Septième majeure



C’est moche, non?… Je me demande pourquoi on utilise cette simplification, même à l’époque ou les ordinateurs n’étaient pas puissant, ça n’a aucun sens, ces multiplications logarithmiques sont beaucoup plus compliquées qu’en utilisant les ratios parfaits, pour couronner le tout les fréquences ont toujours des décimales à l’infini..
Il n’y a pas photo, pour ceux qui aiment bien les math, c’est le choix du La/A 432 avec les ratios parfaits qui donne le plus beau résultat et de loin, toutes les fréquences sont précises.

Pour votre information : certains sont venus me dire que le Do/C 528hz est basé sur un La/A 444hz… Oui, si on utilise cette gamme tempérée, 444 x 2^(3/12) = 528,007959. Mais ce n’est pas une fréquence exacte comme avec les ratios parfaits, donc ce détail n’a aucun interêt à mes yeux.

Spectre visuel:

Les informations disponibles sur les chakras et leur association à une note musicale indiquent tous la même chose: le Do/C représente le chakra racine, le Re/D le chakra sacral, le Mi/E le chakra du plexus solaire, le Fa/F le chakra du cœur, le Sol/G le chakra de la gorge, le La/A le chakra du 3ème œil et le Si/B le chakra de la couronne. Ce que je n’ai jamais compris est le fait de choisir Do/C comme note de base pour commencer l’octave? on pourrait techniquement commencer à partir de n’importe quelle note, en arrivant à la même note la fois suivante on est de toute façon sur l’octave suivant/précédente. Mais par contre ce que je remarque c’est que Do/C est cette fameuse note à la fréquence de 518.4 Hz (faussement placée à la fréquence de 528 Hz..)

Voici une représentation visuelle des chakras associées à la fréquence de la note et aussi à la couleur du spectre visuel. Ce qui m’intrigue aussi, historiquement parlant, c’est: qui a choisit de définir le nom des notes ainsi? Il y a 7 notes précises par octave (Do/C, Re/D, Mi/E, Fa/F, Sol/G, La/A, Si/B) et historiquement parlant on a toujours parlé de 7 chakras… Il y a des relations mathématiques sacrées là derrière j’en suis sûr!

chakrasvisu

Ce qui est aussi intéressant est que le spectre visuel que nous voyons en tant qu’humains est quasi exactement délimité par une octave musicale. C’est un peu évident quand on y pense mais ce n’est jamais mentionné pendant les cours de physique actuels, pourquoi nous humains, sommes-nous limités à exactement l’équivalent d’une octave musicale en terme de perception visuelle? Je dirais même que nos perceptions visuelles sont limitées à exactement une octave du spectre électromagnétique (lumière), qui est notre octave visuelle! Dans les livres plus anciens, datant d’avant 1950 environ, les scientifiques de l’époque employaient souvent le terme « d’octave visuelle », surement parce qu’à l’époque les scientifiques étaient des savants, ils avaient des bases pas seulement dans leur spécialisation, mais dans tous les domaines de savoir terrestre, dont la musique. Alors que de nos jours ce n’est généralement plus du tout le cas..

Pour montrer cette octave il faut transformer les fréquences audio ci-dessus en longueur d’onde, en choisissant une vitesse de propagation du son arbitraire (et irréelle ici, vitesse quasiment nulle) pour faire correspondre les longueurs d’ondes à celles du spectre visuel (~400-700 nm). De toute façon si on commence à 400 nm, l’octave complète est de 400 nm à 800 nm.

visusoundspectra

On peut voir ici que ce choix arbitraire donne des limites de 390 nm (choisit comme valeur initiale) à 731 nm, ce qui est bien proche des valeurs réelles qui ne sont même pas exactement définies… Parfois on peut lire que notre vision est entre 380 nm et 750 nm, parfois 360 et 740 nm, parfois 380 et 720 nm etc. Personne ne sais vraiment, j’aurai tendance à penser que ca commence aux environs de 360 nm car notre œil, ne peut physiquement pas supporter des longueurs d’onde inférieures (et les mesure diffèrent un peu selon les humains). Mais là encore il faut aussi prendre en compte la vision photopique (bonnes contions lumineuses, vision diurne) et scotopique (vision de nuit), qui ne sont jamais mesurées à l’identique à cause des différences entre humains. Je suis persuadé qu’il doit y avoir une façon mathématique de déterminer précisément l’octave visuelle idéale d’un humain.

Je vais m’avancer à dire quelque chose qui peut sembler complètement fou, mais j’en suis sûr! Quand on découvrira la relation directe entre le son et la lumière on avancera beaucoup dans pleins d’aspects de la science. D’après moi c’est évident qu’il y en a une même si les études en physique que j’ai faites essayaient de me convaincre qu’il n’y en a pas.

Sans parler de fréquence je peux vous laisser observer cette image de la vescia piscis qui est une géométrie bien évidente de notre œil! …Je ne sais pas encore quoi faire de cette idée…

Veuillez noter que √324 = 18 et √81 = 9 et √9 = 3. Mais ce qui m’intéresse surtout est cet effet miroir (en numérologie) : 432 ~ 324 et 108 ~ 81. Qui est aussi pareil avec √972 √(3/4) = √729

Numérologie:

Un autre détail qui indique à mes yeux que le choix de 432 et les ratios parfait n’est absolument pas anodin, est que si les fréquences sont réduites à un nombre en suivant les règles de la numérologie, on a 9 pour toute note à toute octave.

Prenons une octave différente des exemples ci-dessus, par exemple en commençant par La/A 1728 Hz (4 x 432), 2 octaves plus haut

Freq. (Hz) Ratio Numerology
La A 1728 x1 1+7+2+8 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
La# A# 1800 x25/24 1+8+0+0 = 9
Si B 1944 x9/8 1+9+4+4 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Do C 2073,6 x6/5 2+0+7+3+6 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Do# C# 2160 x5/4 2+1+6+0 = 9
Re D 2304 x4/3 2+3+0+4 = 9
Re# D# 2430 x45/32 2+4+3+0 = 9
Mi E 2592 x3/2 2+5+9+2 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
Fa F 2764,8 x8/5 2+7+6+4+8 = 27 = 2+7 = 9
Fa# F# 2880 x5/3 2+8+8+0 = 9
Sol G 3110,4 x9/5 3+1+1+0+4 = 9
Sol# G# 3240 x15/8 3+2+4+0 = 9

Vous pouvez vous amuser avec n’importe quelle octave, de toute façon ca ne revient qu’à multiplier ou diviser les fréquences par 2, or en numérologie, le 9 multiplié ou divisé par 2 deviendra toujours un 9:
9 x 2 = 18 = 1+8 = 9
9 / 2 = 4,5 = 4+5 = 9

Le choix du La/A 432 Hz avec les ratios parfaits est le seul choix musical qui donne cette perfection numérologique pour toutes les fréquences.

Plus généralement, si la fréquence de base donne 9, n’importe quelle multiplication de ce 9 par n’importe lequel de ces accords, donnera toujours 9. En fait on pourrai utiliser La/A 414, 423, 441 etc. Mais bon, personne n’a jamais parlé de telles fréquences de La, c’est juste pour vous expliquer les maths numérologiquement parlant. ;)

Cela dit, notez que toutes les fractions ne marchent pas, ces ratios sont très bien choisis, car par exemple 432 x (4/9) = 192 = 1 + 9 + 2 = 3, ou 432 x (46/19) = 1045,894737… Je le répète, ce choix de ratios est tout sauf anodin!